Gallbladder Surgery Update and Stuff

Just thought I would give another update from our house status post my Monday gallbladder surgery.
 
I still hurt.  No, it’s not near as much as what it was, but yeah it still hurts.  I quit taking the pain pills the other day but started taking them again yesterday and am doing lots better when I take them so I guess I will keep taking them for a while.  I am still really tired.  I took a bath Thursday night and I felt like I ran a marathon.  I tried to pack up a few Ebay orders Friday and all I had to do was move around the living room from couch to printer to boxes back to couch, etc., and again, I thought I ran a marathon.  I was so sore and tired when I got done that I couldn’t believe it.  I had planned to go to bowling with Doug last night as I usually do on Friday nights but that was totally out of the question.  I only sit and not bowl but if moving around our living room wiped me out then no way was I going to go do that.  So I was a bit discouraged because I thought I would be doing a lot better than I was by now but I have to keep reminding myself that I had major surgery on Monday and that he had to do a bit more inside than expected so since it has only actually been less than 5 days since my surgery I actually probably am doing pretty good……….considering. 
 
I have had no nausea…………so that is a GREAT thing………because after all that was the whole goal of this surgery to get rid of all the awful nausea I had been having.  Things finally started moving inside me yesterday and now I am having the dreaded diarrhea that was expected, but fortunately it is only once about an hour after I eat and I’m not running all day long like I feared.   I ate a southern chicken sandwich from McDonalds for lunch yesterdat and have had potato chips a few times and had a meatball sub for supper last night with NO problems.  I figure I ate meatloaf with no problems at the hospital and I ate spaghetti two nights for supper with no problems, so how much different is a meatball sub except for the cheese? 
 
So basically I am just trying to rest, get up and walk around occasionally, and hope that soon I am up and around.  Today Doug had to go to a couple stores so I decided to ride along.  I figure if I am going to go back to work next week I have to get moving a little bit plus my legs and arms and hips and everything were aching in the night and figure I am getting stiff from not moving.  So I went………just sat in the car when he went in the one store and then of course the grits I had decided to run through me so I had to go in to Walmart and use the facilities.  All I did was walk in, use the facilities, and then sit on the bench waiting for Doug, then back to the car.  By the time we got home I was so exhausted and hurt so bad!  I couldn’t believe it!  But again, I have to remind myself that I just had major surgery on Monday and it really has been just 5 days so be patient.  I can’t drive until Tuesday and my plans are to go in half days Tuesday through Friday, but again it will depend on how I am doing.  I know I will have to feel a lot better than I do today before I can go back for any length of time.  The doctor basically said once this week is past that I just have to use how I feel as a judge for what I can or can’t do. My follow up with the surgeon is on 10/20 and I am not allowed to lift anything or vacuum or do anything strenuous until then but after Monday I can do other things as I feel comfortable.
 
Poor Doug is really worn out.  His system got all messed up with last weekend getting up early for Ligonier Country Market on Saturday, then we were out late at the Comedy Show on Saturday night, then got up early Monday for surgery and then he stayed late at the hospital to watch the Steelers game with me.  Then he had to go back to work Wednesday and I guess work has been pretty rough along with having to cover everything here since I can’t do anything.  So he actually skipped bowling last night……..he figured as tired as he is he probably wouldn’t bowl good anyway.  We have bascially enjoyed just hanging out at home this weekend and relaxing and watching the Penguins win today and in Sweden and hopefully again tomorrow and the Steelers win Sunday night.  Unfortunately he will have to get up both days and open the gates for the parks since I can’t take my turn this weekend, but he will hopefully just come back home and crash after he does again tomorrow like he did today.
 
I had plans of spending all this time off catching up on designing banners and posting things on Ebay.  I figured I wouldn’t feel good enough to sit up and work on banners because of the incisions and the pain, but I thought I would at least feel like being on the laptop 24/7 and getting caught up on all the pattern designs that have been requested that I haven’t done and get more things posted on Ebay for myself, my Mom, and my mother-in-law.  But that hasn’t happened either.  I just don’t even feel like being on the computer.  Sure am thankful for HGTV though!  I have been watching that from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. every day!  I love the transformations they do in people’s homes!  Good thing we rent here because if we owned the house Doug would be in trouble because I would have all kinds of projects set up for us to do!  LOL
 
Oh……..the only other thing going on is that tonight is the culmination of Pittsburgh’s 250th Birthday Celebration with a huge fireworks display, unlike any ever seen before.  I had figured I would feel good enough to go to that but alas, that didn’t happen.  There are things going on all day downtown that we would definitely have attended if I hadn’t had surgery but obviously we didn’t go.  I tried hard to figure out how we could go and watch the fireworks like finding a place we can park and not have to walk and just watch them from the car.  But like Doug says, it is going to be NUTS down there and to get a place close enough to see the display we would have to go so early and then it would be too much for me.  So………..unless we could find a cheap hotel room to rent (yeah right, in downtown Pittsburgh? LOL) that we can watch it from, I guess we will be watching it after the fact when it is on TV at 11:30 tonight.  Oh well.  I scheduled the surgery so as not to mess with games and concerts and craft shows and stuff.  I couldn’t avoid everything.
 
Okay, so that’s the latest…………that’s what’s going on here for now.  Just chilling and trying to keep healing because it hasn’t really been that long and I just have to have more patience!  I have to just keep trying foods and see what happens.  Had grilled cheese and no problems.  Had sweet sausage sandwich with tomatoes and cheese and only a little problem.  So things are working and I am healing and maybe soon I will be up and around again.  Well gotta run…………fireworks will be on TV pretty soon…………at least can watch them on our 42-inch HDTV!
Leave a Reply

