American Idol………..David……….or David?

Well, it’s over…………the final competition for this season of American Idol.

I said weeks ago it would come down to David Cook and David Archuleta and it did.  A rocker bartender against a young 17-year-old……what a match up!

Round One:  These songs were picked by Clive.  David Cook sang “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” and I was very impressed.  But then David Archuleta sand “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” and I was about in tears.  He really gave it his all and it showed.  I had to agree with Simon that he won Round One, however if I truly had to vote on one or the other at that point it would have been VERY hard.

Round Two:  They each picked a song from the songwriter’s competition so I wasn’t familiar with either song.  Cook did okay but again, Arch really did better by picking a better song and putting his heart into it and showing so much feeling.  He was really singing better than he sang the whole season and Cook was just kind there……..he was good, but as Simon would say, not a memorable moment.  Round Two goes to Arch, too.

Round Three:  They each sang a song of their own choosing.  David Cook sang :”The World I Know” by Collective Soul and again, even though it was good, it was nothing special.  David Archuleta sang “Imagine” and wowed the audience again.

Bottom line, I have to agree with Simon that it was a knockout………..Arch won.  It seemed to me that Cook either didn’t want it bad enough or he just figured the win was his.  However, Arch acted like he wanted it and stepped it up for the finals and showed that he could be a winner.

We won’t know until tomorrow night, but my  money is on David Archuleta………but I hope David Cook gets a contract, too, because he does deserve it.

What do YOU think???

Leave a Reply

